Wednesday, July 13, 2016

The Nine Planets

Type: Website


Bill Arnett is the author of "The Nine Planets". The website is designed to give you an overview of "the planets, moons and Other objects in our solar system." While Bill provides the text information, most of the Images are provided by NASA.

The 'Home' page gives you a quick overview of what is available on the website. A menu at the top of the page provides quick access to six specific area. Drop down menus activate for the 'Planets' and 'Small Bodies' tabs. Towards the bottom of the page is a list of additional educational resources. At the bottom is a small menu with utility links.

Each of the pages describing and object have a profile and history about the object. The pages have paragraphs that are filled with images and links to more information about specific details. There are additional links for offsite information when appropriate. An interesting feature is the 'Open Issues' discussion at the end of the planet pages. The 'News' section appears to be a blog format page of the latest major space events. It is well written and has appropriate images and videos. When in the News section you will see a change in the top menu.

The website is full of the basic knowledge appropriate for a beginning understanding of our solar system. The site is very easy to navigate and intuitive. The website contains quite a bit of advertising that could slow delivery of pages on some systems.  If you are new to astronomy or starting you adventure looking up, this is a great place for you to reference.

Thursday, March 24, 2016

The Solarian War Saga

Type: Book Series


The Solarian War Saga by Felix R. Savage is a series of science fiction books that cover an interplanetary war taking place in the 23rd century. The books are available both online and in print. Knights Hill Publishing provides the print versions and the online versions are available from the major online publishers in a variety of formats for easy downloading and reading. The prequel to the series, Crapkiller was first published in April of 2015.

I am thoroughly enjoying this series and felt it was important enough to let you in on this fun to read saga. The story line continues well between each of the books and the character development is first class. You get to know and follow characters as they achieve success and maturity in their respective duties. You'll find that you probably know several people just like the characters. Apparently, people don't change. They will even make you laugh at times. Quite often there are twists and turns you don't expect. This can leave you hanging for a while. As Mr. Savage says, "The characters range from the holy to the downright slimy."

At the time of this review, I have just received The Mars Shock: A Space Colonization Thriller (The Solarian War Saga Book 6). Mr. Savage is producing a new book every couple of months. On Amazon, his books have been rated with four and five stars. The series is also available in audio format from Audible, iTunes, or Amazon.

I highly recommend The Solarian War Saga to all my space interested friends. It's a great diversion from our real space adventures. It is available at your favorite online book sellers. Click the link to the Crapkiller and begin the story today. Enjoy!